Eli Manning or Matt Ryan?

Recently I have been arguing with my friends–hardcore Giants fans–slideshow_1002306433_Falcons-Giants-Football-2about who the better quarterback is; Eli Manning or Matt Ryan.

While the answer to some may seem obvious, given Manning’s two Super Bowl championships, I tend to think  the gap between the two is a lot smaller than most would think. First, I’ll start by saying that I think too much emphasis is put on the importance of the quarterback position. It is indeed the most important position on the field, I get that. however, how do you explain Trent Dilfer’s Super Bowl ring, or Doug Williams’? Is Big Ben truly an “elite” quarterback? I tend to lean toward no. Eli, although better than those previously mentioned, is still not elite. I look at his regular season meltdowns and just can not get past them and elevate him to the next level. As far as Matt Ryan, he has had a phenomenal career in the regular season, putting up better numbers than Eli on almost a yearly basis. The thing with Ryan is he has received ZERO help from his defense and running game in the postseason. If you ask me, Manning’s importance to the ’07 Super Bowl team was secondary to that ferocious pass rush. Ryan has not been blessed with such a dominate front four, therefore putting more pressure on Ryan to take total control of his team.

all other variables aside, comparing Manning and Ryan from a pure quarterback standpoint, I truly believe that Matt Ryan–who is not yet a finished product–is better than Eli Manning and I think time will eventually answer this debate for me. Lets not forget Eli’s older brother Peyton’s woeful postseason performances early on in his career.

My top five QB’s

  1. Tom Brady
  2. Peyton Manning
  3. Aaron Rodgers
  4. Drew Brees
  5. Matt Ryan
This entry was posted in Debates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

