Game Recap–Lions

The Falcons went in to Detroit Saturday night and accomplished what I had hoped they would–sort of. Granted Atlanta wrapped up the number one seed in the NFC, put on an aerial display, and kept everyone healthy, there was still one glaring weakness–The woeful running game.

I am the type of fan who looks for perfect execution week in and week out. So, while other fans are celebrating the many positives from the Detroit game, I can’t help but notice the weaknesses. After all, recognizing the weaknesses in a situation helps you strive to be a better team.

The falcons compiled 73 yards on 22 attempts, with Turner accounting for 13 carries. Matt Ryan, once again, put the team on his back, throwing for 279 yards and 4 touchdowns. Roddy White led the squad with 153 receiving yards and two touchdowns.

The passing game, facing off against a banged up Lions secondary, was executed just the way I had imagined. However, I had said in my game preview that I was looking for Atlanta to have more success on the ground; that did not happen. Watching the game, I couldn’t help but notice how explosive Jacquizz Rogers is. I really like the change of pace he brings to the offense and I truly think he is deserving of more carries. Michael Turner, on the other hand, is still running as if he is indecisive. He seems as though he is tanking fast, like so many other running backs have. He lacks that initial burst that the successful backs in the league possess. In order for turner to be successful he needs to  have gaping holes to run through, and Superior down-field blocking. Once he gets going he is hard to take down, however.

The game turned out to be pretty much what I was expecting. With that being the last meaningful game of the year, I am now looking ahead to the postseason. I’m also looking forward to getting William Moore, Roddy White, and a few of our other players healthy in the next couple weeks, heading in to the playoffs. RISE UP!!

* Shout out to Matt Ryan, Julio Jones, and Tony Gonzalez on being named to the 2013 Pro Bowl!

*Congrats to WR Calvin Johnson on breaking Jerry Rice’s recieving record. Even though I wish it hadn’t come against us, I have to give credit where credit is due.

This entry was posted in Game Recaps. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

