Is the Grass Greene-r on the Other Side?

large_shonn-greene-new-york-jets-827Rumor has it the Atlanta Falcons are reportedly interested in soon-to-be free agent running back Shonn Greene, who has spent the past four seasons with the New York Jets.

To be honest, this report kind of caught me off guard. I see cutting Michael Turner and signing Shonn Greene as a lateral move at best. Now, I understand the salary cap significance of this move, but from a pure football standpoint, I personally do not like the fit.

If the Falcons decide to go with Greene, we can expect to see a 50-50 workload between Jaquizz Rogers and Greene. With that being said, I begin to ask myself what about Jason Snelling? To me, Snelling is just as good, if not better, than Shonn Greene.

I don’t think the Falcons should explore any of the lackluster running backs available in free agency. Instead, they should lock in to a second or third round guy to compliment Jaquizz Rogers. There are plenty other positions Atlanta can target in free agency; I am just not impressed with any of the running backs.

We shall see how it all plays out in the next few weeks.

This entry was posted in Offseason. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

